Of St. Patrick’s Day, More Cute, and ECT

It’s St. Patrick’s Day, which means we must have corned beef for dinner. We don’t mind, it’s going to be delicious. It’s the only time I’d ever even consider eating cabbage, it just feels right. I’ll probably eat my body weight in potatoes and carrots, with a small portion of corned beef. Nancy is more fond of cabbage, and will eat it at other times. This is what they call a New England Boiled Dinner. Wikipedia…

New England boiled dinner is the basis of a traditional New England meal, consisting of corned beef or asmoked “picnic ham” shoulder, with cabbage and added vegetable items, often including potato, rutabaga,parsnip, carrot, white turnip and onion. When using a beef roast, this meal is often known simply as corned beef and cabbage even with the addition of other vegetables.”

Anyway, beyond that I feel compelled to report what is happening with electro-convulsive therapy. Some friends are curious about it, even considering doing it. My next treatment is the day after tomorrow, on March 19. We’re down to once a week now. Enough to stave off depression, but not so frequent that I have to think about it every day. Three times a week is no picnic. Preparing for it the night before (not taking certain medications and not eating or drinking after midnight), and actually having it done and recovering, is like a full-time job when you’re doing it on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Ugh.

I like that the nurses know me over there. When I walk into the ECT Clinic, every nurse I see says, “Hi Darren!” Sort of like, “Norm” on Cheers. And I know all of them by name. They’re so damn nice. I’m going to miss them when eventually I’m down to one treatment every three months or so. That’s when they get to, “maintenance.” Eventually once every six months. They’re busy nurses…so very many people getting, “shock therapy.” It’s amazing.

About Darren W. Lyle

I'm certifiably insane (I have the paperwork), collect old typewriters (got one?), am 43 years old, and am divorced. I've five pets, of course, and have thoughts. Some aren't good, some are. some are funny, some are just there, but I'll post them when I'm of a mind to.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, cats, depression, electro-convulsive therapy, life, Mental Illness, nude, video and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Of St. Patrick’s Day, More Cute, and ECT

  1. lilypup says:

    I have never had ECT for my depression but it has been considered. I’m glad it is working for you. Enjoy your boiled dinner! I like cabbage myself. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    • D.W. D'Lisle says:

      If it’s a good hospital, I’d consider ECT. I’m lucky enough to have MacLean Hospital (part of MGH) just a few miles away. People come from hundreds of miles EVERY DAY to have ECT done three times a week. Then twice a week…just like I said. Anyway, not everyone is so lucky. My ex-gf lives in Iowa and there is nothing mental health-wise. Look into it, though, it really does work. And I’m going to enjoy my boiled dinner. 🙂 Be well, my friend.

  2. Happy belated St. Patrick’s day from Ireland!

    Thanks for sharing your experience with ECT. I hope you don’t mind but saw you mentioned in a comment on another post that you are on Lamictal as well? Can I ask how you find it? I’ve been on it for eight months and up to 200 mg a day but I don’t know if it’s helping (I’m also still on my anti-depressant though, which they won’t take me off yet).

    Slainte!

    • D.W. D'Lisle says:

      Hello! You’re welcome regarding my sharing my ECT experience. It’s something people need to know more about as an option for treatment of depression. It’s good to use any and all tools you possibly can. They’re also using powerful magnets (“Trans-Magnetic Stimulation”), which insurance companies won’t pay for, yet, anyway. As for Lamictal, I’m up to 400mg a day; 200 in the morning, and 200 at night. I think it helps with racing thoughts, and perhaps some with depression. One thing I like about it is the lack of side effects. Every so often, for reasons that are unclear, I have a seizure. One “bonus” with Lamictal is that it prevents seizures. It’s tough to know if a psych med is working, at least for me. One problem that I’d like a med to help with is anxiety. Do you think you’re experiencing any side effects from Lamictal?

Leave a Reply

