Of Easy Wind and Downy Flake

The title of this ‘blog entry is from a Robert Frost poem. I’m sure you know the rest of it. It goes like this:

The woods are lovely, dark and deep, and I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep, and miles to go before I sleep.

The poem is called, “Walking by Woods on a Snowy Evening.” It’s beautiful. I’m partial to poetry, particularly the poetry of Walter Benton, which can be very erotic. For that reason, a lot of “serious” people dismiss it. I’m also fond of Longfellow, and have his, “Psalm of Life,” committed to memory. I recited it at my father’s funeral. He was very fond of him, as well.

But Walter Benton. Wow.

This morning…after the war and everything (at the end of the 6th day of God’s anger and the madness of man) promises take shape…become.

How much lovelier you are than any! Your flesh is of the pale cloth of the moon…and it’s fragrance is sweet-clean as a sunned linen.

Ah, darling…as the night whitens into day, we have loved and slept, bathed and returned to one another-marveling at the wondrous things we are.

All your incomparable body laughs to my touch, opens like the roses upon which warm rains have fallen.

O there is no drink like the cup your kisses fill!-there is no peace like the sleep shaped by our love’s violence!

These days I take comfort in poetry and music. I’m going through electro-convulsive therapy (ECT) for depression, and we’ve decided to do it more frequently and vigorously. A stronger dose, so to speak. It’s important to remember that there are beautiful, and moving, things in the world. Tchaikovsky’s violin concerto is another example of something wonderful.   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GAkw_Wi4yIo

About Darren W. Lyle

I'm certifiably insane (I have the paperwork), collect old typewriters (got one?) and am 45 years old. I've 3 pets, of course, and have thoughts. Some aren't good, some are. some are funny, some are just there, but I'll post them when I'm of a mind to.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, depression, electro-convulsive therapy, life, love, Mental Illness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

