Donne Too Soon

Tomorrow is Christmas Eve, and I’m sure many of you are excited. Happy as all get out. I’m not, but I don’t have any children. If you happen to have them, with money to buy them gifts, then it is likely to be a superb day, full of frivolity. Otherwise, anything is possible. There is no forced mirth here, although there will be a modicum of gluttony. Nancy is planning a honey-glazed, spiral cut ham, sweet potatoes, carrots, peas and mashed potatoes. Peas…ah, yes, I yearn for them. Something about Gregor Johann Mendel and his damn peas. That Punnett Square they pound into your head in introduction to biology.

220px-Punnett_Square.svg

These are the people who will be eating to excess. Nancy, Darren (me), and our son, Michael. Regardless of Mendelian inheritance, peas will be eaten.

1229875_717372244946717_700734423_n

Nancy and I, on our way home to Boston from Duluth.

1186685_724969944186947_1161782843_n

Our son Michael, chilling with Annie.

After that, a movie or two, with, “A Face in the Crowd” among them. A great movie that we have on DVD. Then bed time very late and, with any luck, I’ll sleep through all of Christmas. Then on 26 December, I’ll be having a tooth removed that is causing a terrible headache. I’m actually looking forward to that.

Let’s fast forward to New Year’s Eve. I’m fond of it. It’s a good time to look back at the year we just did, and look forward to the year we’re going to do. Hell knows what’s going to happen in 2014. The Chinese are going to have a base on the moon. Chinese food on the moon. The Jewish folks, and I, will want to be in space because of those moon Chinese restaurants. Wowza. Then there is the attempt by Amazon to deliver packages via flying drones. They actually plan to deliver small packages to a very small percentage of the US population using little flying robots that people are already shooting at with glee.

But before we move on, New Year’s Eve is about looking back at the past, as well.  l lost my father this year. Well, I didn’t lose him, his ashes are at the Pine Haven Cemetery. He’s gone, and he is sorely missed. We also lost a lot of other people of consequence. Mandela stands out, of course. As does Peter O’Toole and Joan Fontaine. But a lot of great folks just splat ended.

I miss you, Dad, most of all.

1005158_679095228774419_1901216233_n

My father was in the 599th Field Artillery Battalion, a “bastard” FA that was attached to any unit that needed them. He was a surveyor.

There he is in Germany, in 1953 or so. My pipe habit probably came from this picture alone. He just looks cool.

1377999_728847513799190_1680362677_n

I’m not, and wasn’t, anything.

So, I’ll glide by Christmas, but enjoy New Year’s Eve. Look Back. Look ahead. Look around.

Auld Lang Syne

Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
And never brought to mind?
Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
And days o’ lang syne!

Chorus:
For auld lang syne, my dear
For auld lang syne,
We’ll tak a cup o’ kindness yet
For auld lang syne!

We twa hae run about the braes,
And pu’d the gowans fine,
But we’ve wander’d mony a weary foot
Sin’ auld lang syne.

We twa hae paidl’t in the burn
Frae morning sun till dine,
But seas between us braid hae roar’d
Sin’ auld lang syne.

And there’s a hand, my trusty fiere,
And gie’s a hand o’ thine,
And we’ll tak a right guid willie-waught
For auld lang syne!

And surely ye’ll be your pint’ stoup,
And surely I’ll be mine!
And we’ll tak a cup o’ kindness yet
For auld lang syne!

And then there is…

No man is an island,
Entire of itself.
Each is a piece of the continent,
A part of the main.
If a clod be washed away by the sea,
Europe is the less.
As well as if a promontory were.
As well as if a manor of thine own
Or of thine friend’s were.
Each man’s death diminishes me,
For I am involved in mankind.
Therefore, send not to know
For whom the bell tolls,
It tolls for thee.

About Darren W. Lyle

I'm certifiably insane (I have the paperwork), collect old typewriters (got one?), am 43 years old, and am divorced. I've five pets, of course, and have thoughts. Some aren't good, some are. some are funny, some are just there, but I'll post them when I'm of a mind to.
This entry was posted in Autobiography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Donne Too Soon

  1. Matt says:

    Good stuff as always D!

Leave a Reply

